Are you planning a wedding? Read this first!

Not long after I got engaged (which was like 1.5 years before our actual wedding ha), I found this book on Amazon, A Practical Wedding: Creative Ideas for Planning a Beautiful, Affordable, and Meaningful Celebration.  If you buy any wedding book at all buy this one, and you know, actually read it.  I pretty much had no idea about weddings and this book really puts it all in perspective, especially if you are planning on a budget like we were.  It makes you realize that most “traditions” are stuff that people just made up like 20 years ago and you don’t really have to do them if you don’t want to.  For instance, I had no desire to do the garter toss, I discussed it with my fiance and he agreed that it’s kind of creepy (that’s just us though).  I still wanted to do the bouquet toss, and I did.

Not only did the book make me feel better about getting married but I kind of knew what to expect, like the crazy stressed out blow-ups with your family.  Haha.  In the end you just have to realize that it’s all going to work out and all that really matters is you are marrying your best friend.  Reading the book led me to their website: apracticalwedding.com LOVE this website!  They have lots of great blogs and lots of great FREE excel spreadsheets.  I know, you probably feel like I did, “ughh spreadsheets.”  Trust me, these come in very handy.  The one I really utilized the most was the guest list sheet.  It’s AWESOME.  It also gave me ideas as to what else I would need.  A wedding day timeline, what?  Yes, you will want a wedding day timeline.  Especially if you have people helping you, which you will.  I preferred to write this out in a word document though, it seemed easier to me.  There will probably come a point in your planning when you’re like, “OMG I have no idea what happens at a reception.”  Or maybe that’s just me… anyway, I googled “wedding reception timeline” and I kind of got the jist from there.  I made a separate timeline for the DJ to have which was pretty handy.

In the end, I have to say that my wedding day was absolutely perfect.  The sun was shining, I married my best friend, and I got to see everyone that I love.  Oh, and cake.  The only thing I would change is the communication.  I guess being so wrapped up in all the planning, I kind of forgot to mention things to people along the way, just assuming they knew.  So make sure that you tell people if you are expecting them to be somewhere or to do something for you.

Oh, and I just want to mention that giving yourself a long engagement is definitely worth it if you’re planning a honeymoon!  Sure by month 8 I already had the entire thing planned and was ready to go but we really needed those extra months to save up for the honeymoon.  I am so glad that we did!  We had time to save for our wedding and our honeymoon, and I know our parents were glad that we gave them extra time too!  So just think about that when you’re picking your date.

That’s all for the moment, but stay tuned for more wedding posts!

wedding collage

Got a million ideas running around in your head?  Make an idea board and give your vision some life.  This was mine, I didn’t use everything here, but it gave my ideas a home!

Leave a Reply

