DIY Paper Towel Holder.

20150624_164321

I had been searching for a cute paper towel holder for months.  Sadly, they’re all pretty bla, except at Dillard’s, they have some really cute ones if you want to pay $50 or more for a paper towel holder.  So what is a girl to do?  Pinterest of course. That’s where I found this great blog post on how to make your own paper towel holder.

For some reason today the link isn’t working for it but I will give walk you through on what I did.

First you will need your materials:

  • A wooden spoon
  • A wooden fork
  • 7″ round wood plaque thing
  • 1 1/4″ round wood dowel
  • Drill
  • 1″ wood screws
  • Your favorite paint color
  • Wood glue
  • Drill bits
  • Saw
  • Sand paper
  • Spray primer

20150623_190028

First I located the approximate center for the base and traced around my dowel rod.  It doesn’t have to be perfect because once the paper towels are on there you won’t be able to tell anyway if it isn’t exact.  I used some bar clamps to hold it in place (if you don’t have any bar clamps, you MUST get some, they are the bomb!).  I sized up my screws and selected the appropriate drill bit for the size.  I drilled two holes through my base.

20150623_190407

Next will be the dowel rod.  In the original post they only used like a 2″ long section of dowel rod but I felt like making it taller would be a lot sturdier.  It also depends on how long your center utensil is.  The shorter it is the longer your dowel rod will have to be.  Cut the dowel to your desired height, then screw the base on from the bottom using two flat head wood screws.

20150623_191432

See how handy those clamps are?  It’s like you have extra hands!  After your base is attached, you can drill a hole in the top of the dowel rod that is the same size as your utensil.  You go about an inch down. Then you will drill a hole in the base for your spoon. I placed the paper towels on to see where I needed my spoon to be. I drilled about halfway into the base for this one.  Afterward your base should look something like this:

20150623_193622

I had to trim both my spoon and fork down to get them where I wanted them, you’ll just have to play around with it.  Make sure that before you do anything else that you SAND EVERYTHING.  This will make it easier when you are ready to paint.  You will put a some wood glue in the hole you made in the base and insert the spoon.  Make sure you give it plenty of time to set.  Wipe off any excess glue with a wet rag.

20150623_194737

The glue bottle also works well for holding up your spoon while you’re waiting for it to dry… haha.  While you are waiting for this, you can go ahead and paint your fork.  I primed everything first.  This will make your finish last a lot longer and you won’t have a bunch of chips and stuff taken out of your finish.

20150623_195501

Once your base is dry, slap some primer on that too.  Once your primer has dried, lightly sand with 220 grit sand paper.  You’ll feel the immediate difference in the finish, it will feel smooth.  Make sure you have sanded out all of your rough spots.  I used Killz spray paint primer and Rustoleum spray paint in Seaside (I think that’s the name).  Then you’re ready to paint.

20150624_085956

Once all that is dry, you are done and it’s ready to go!

20150624_164332

Tadaaaa!  I decided mine was a little too bright so I aged it a bit with some wood stain.  This is one of my favorite tricks to make something look not-so-new.  My favorite color to do this with is Minwax, Provincial.  All you do is cover the item with stain and wipe it off with a rag.  Let it dry and you’re done.

20150625_182855

This is what it looks like after that.  It’s probably hard to tell with the terrible lighting.  Anyway, if I can do this, so can you!  The only things I had to buy for this was the wood base ($1.99 Hobby Lobby), the wooden fork ($7.59 on Amazon), dowel rod ($3.99 Hobby Lobby), and a drill bit big enough for the fork.  I already had everything else.  And the best part is you can paint it any color that you want to!  I hope you are inspired now to try this out!

Leave a Reply

