When you take your knobs for granted…

You never realize how much you use those little knobs on your cabinet doors until you no longer have any.  In my previous post I told you all that our kitchen cabinets were lacking this amazing feature. Well, I couldn’t take it anymore.  I lasted roughly a week and decided that we I had to install some.  Mostly because I couldn’t remember which way the doors opened for each cabinet.

Perhaps you have the same cabinet conundrum that I do, maybe you’re a little bit scared to tackle a little DIY knob installation project.  Don’t worry, it’s super easy!  Wanna know why?  Because THIS.  Did you know they make hole templates specifically for knob and drawer pull installation?  If you didn’t know that, now you do, and they’re super cheap and a headache life saver!  I got mine on Amazon (of course)  but they sell them at Lowe’s and Home Depot as well.  Mine came with a drill bit as well.  I ordered some oil rubbed bronze knobs and pulls from Amazon because I thought it was a really great deal, however, Lowe’s actually had a better deal on their knobs and they were kind of prettier haha.  So if you’re more patient than I am, do some comparison shopping first on your hardware.

Once you have your templates, your hardware, and a trusty drill, you’re ready to get started!  Decide where you want your pulls and knobs to sit and mark all your holes with a pencil, then drill all the holes, install your hardware, and boom!  Done.  I had a little more difficulty because the screws that came with the pulls weren’t long enough to fit through the drawer fronts so I had to wait until Monday when the hardware store opened to get screws.  Then I had a huge mental breakdown in the store apparently thinking that ten handles with two holes each equaled 10 screws.  Needless to say I had to make an additional hardware store trip the following day.   Anyway, super easy to do and definitely gives the cabinets the pop that they needed.

BEFORE

20150813_185552 20150813_185549 20150813_185557

so nakey!

Here’s the AFTER

20150816_202816

For about $50 I transformed our cabinets and I no longer take knobs for granted anymore!

Leave a Reply

